西蒙妮·汤姆森

原住民艺术家

我的故事

我是一位墨尔本的原住民艺术家,通过我的母亲成为维多利亚·乌龙杰里和约塔·约塔部落的后裔,而通过父亲则是爱尔兰人和苏格兰人。.

我从这片美丽土地的丰富纹理和色彩以及我与Birrarung Yarra河和Dhungala墨累河的祖先联系中汲取灵感,为我的艺术创作。我的人民是河流人民,所以我发现水路经常与梦想和天空的创造故事交织在我的艺术中。ky. 

我向我的母亲,外祖母Kooka Geraldine和她的母亲,曾祖母Kooka Yarmuk致敬。特别是通过他们,我携带了从母亲那里传给我的语言,故事和祖先的口述历史和知识。.

我很受强大的文化教育的熏陶,其中包括小时候的传统歌舞。这些文化习俗一直延续到我的少年时代,在那里我成为了维多利亚州第一所土著学校-瓦拉瓦土著学院的第一名应届毕业生。在这里,我十五岁就拿起了第一支油漆刷,创造了我的第一个梦想故事。我几乎不知道我会把这种讲故事的神圣艺术很好地延续到我的成年时代,而且我仍然会从连接到我的文化中获得与那时一样的精神康复和力量。我邀请您与我分享我的梦想故事和旅程。y.

Galnyan,敬重。

西蒙妮

Simone Thomson

ABORIGINAL ARTIST

My Story

I am a Melbourne based Aboriginal artist and descendant of Victoria’s Wurundjeri and Yorta-Yorta tribes through my mother, and I am Irish and Scottish through my father.

I draw inspiration for my art from the abundant textures and colours of this beautiful land along with the ancestral bonds I have to the Birrarung (Yarra River) and Dhungala (the Murray River). My people are river people, so I find that waterways often interweave into my art along with dreaming and creation stories of the sky. 

I pay my respects to my mother, my maternal grandmother Kooka Geraldine, and her mother, my great-grandmother – Kooka Yarmuk. It is through them in particular that I carry the language, stories and ancestral oral history and knowledge passed down to me from my mother.

I have been blessed with a strong cultural education that includes traditional song and dance as a young child. These cultural practices continued into my teenage years where I became the first graduating student of Victoria’s first Aboriginal school, Worawa Aboriginal College. It’s here that I picked up my first paint brush at fifteen and created my first dreaming story. Little did I know that I would continue this sacred art of storytelling well into my adult years and that I would still receive the same spiritual healing and strength I did back then from connecting to my culture. I invite you to share with me my dreaming stories and journey.

Galnyan, Respect.

Simone